For whatever reason, you may decide that Facebook is no longer a social media service you need. Whether you’re trying to focus on school or work, have gone through a break-up, or no longer have any interest, you can close your account – either temporarily or permanently. Closing your account is simple, just follow a few simple steps.
As mentioned, there are two options when aiming to close your Facebook account. If you think that you may want to reactivate your account in the future, you can temporarily deactivate your account. If you think that you’ll use your account in the future, this may be your best bet. This option is more flexible, however, some information may still stay intact.
Once your account is temporarily closed, no one will be able to search for you on Facebook or see your Timeline, but information, such as messages you’ve sent in the past, may still be visible to other users. When you choose this option, all of your friends, interests, and photographs will be saved. Once the account is reactivated, all of this information becomes available once again.
The second option is to permanently delete your account. If you don’t think you’ll use Facebook again and permanently closing it is what you’d like to do, send a request to delete your account. Before doing so, it’s recommended that you download a copy of your Facebook data, just in case there’s any information you’d like to keep. Once your account is permanently closed, there will not be any way of retrieving this data.
Simply login to Facebook and click settings. Within your general account settings, you’ll find the option to download all relevant info. To delete your account, select ‘help’ and then search ‘delete my account.’ You can also login and then type the following: www.facebook.com/help/delete_account.
Once again, your account will not be visible once you’ve closed it. With that being said, it can take up to 90 days for all photos, statuses, and other related data to be deleted from backup systems. While Facebook is removing your account’s data, other users will not be able to access it. Since messages are not stored within your personal account, past sent messages may still be visible to various recipients.